Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Apparently I'm a Better Teacher Than Player

TomBayesTomBayes Posts: 81Subscriber
edited June 2015 in Las Vegas and WSOP
So I'm a college professor and a "recreational" poker player. Last year, I played my first two WSOP events and was able to make a final table in the $1500 NL 2-7 Lowball event (finishing 4th). If you don't know me, I tend to prefer draw games and mixed games in general.

I entered this year's $1500 Lowball as well. Here's how it went:

A man named Christian Pham just won the $1500 NL 2-7 Lowball bracelet. I played in the tournament and sat next to him on Day 1.

(Captain Tom Franklin in #1 seat, me in #2, Pham in #3)

Get to first break with 7350, basically starting stack.

This is when we are introduced to Confused Asian Man With The Fedora (CAMWTF). He sits in #3, has a WSOP schedule in his hand, and is wondering if it's triple draw? Eh, it's single draw. He seems totally bewildered and I'm wondering how in the fuck this guy got here.

First hand CAMWTF plays:

CAMWTF raises UTG, Franklin calls from SB, I fold.

Both draw 1.

Franklin checks, CAMWTF bets, Franklin folds.

CAMWTF shows 7543A and asks if it's a good hand. Franklin says afterwords he's sure CAMWTF kept the Ace and drew another card based on his card handling. I'm pretty sure Tom paired high or would have looked him up.

Next hand CAMWTF plays:

Old man in Seat #7 raises from UTG+1 CAMWTF defends from button. Both draw two. Old man bets out. CAMWTF raises. Old man folds trip deuces face up and goes “What in the hell could you have?” CAMWTF turns over 75432 (the nuts in deuce-to-seven). Old Man can't see and asks “What's he got?” I say “Just the nuts”. CAMWTF seems perplexed that he had the nuts.