Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

PLO Advanced Math

HI all. First post. I am a PLO pro that is starting from the beginning of the vids to clean up my game. I have a math question that is in regards to a vid that was made in 2014. I thought the thread might be better here than such an old vid. It was Intro to PLO by Don Ding. On hand #3, the board is AsKsJd and one player flops the nuts while another has top set and another has the NFD. Don states that on this flop, the player with the nut straight on the flop will still have the nuts about 50% of the time. I was wondering what is the math to calculate this. I am not looking for the direct answer for this situation but the calculation to all, so that I can do the math on every flop. I think this would be a good matrix to have memorized when calculating bet sizes and pot odds.
Tagged:

Comments

• ChaseChase Posts: 182Subscriber
    Welcome to CLP!

I'm a bit confused about your question. Are you sure you didn't misunderstand Don?

It seems like asking how often a given hand will hold up is the same question as asking how much "raw"/"hot-and-cold"/"showdown" equity the hand has.

The equities in PPT are something like:
    board: AsKsJd
    Hand Equity Wins Ties
    QdTc*h*h 33.68% 197,184 9,851
    AA 38.78% 227,757 9,851
    Qs9s8c7c 27.53% 165,208 0

So I'm not sure how the straight is supposed to hold up 50% of the runouts...
    Seeing only the turn card, top set has 7 outs, and the FD has 8 (we cant count J :s: twice) so the straight has to fade a combined 15 outs on the turn. So for just the turn the math for how often the straight holds is: (22/37 = 0.59)
    Now let's say the turn is the 2
    The two drawing players now have 17 combined outs (10 for the set + 7 for the FD).